If you have a Class A license or intend to get one, this is a must not miss learning opportunity! Hear dynamic presentations from the experts to help you check your compliance with the rules BEFORE the surveyors arrive. Register today so you can invest in your operations while caring for your clients and avoiding costly fines.
This annual event brings more updated Class A changes and requirements for you to stay compliant. The interactive training session is designed to bring you up to date on the many Minnesota Class A rules and regulations. Specific practices and common issues will be presented and solutions provided to help you remain in compliance and avoid survey deficiencies.
Why You Should Attend
- Identify payer sources and Class A Covered Services
- Find out what you can do and what you can’t
- Recognize your agency’s responsibility in avoiding fraud and abuse
- Describe acceptable Class A documentation skills
- Identify and correct problematic areas for survey deficiencies (medication administration, CLIA, bill of rights, delegation, supervision, competency, etc.)
- Become familiar with examples of quality improvement activities necessary for compliance
- Describe the requirements for medication
- administration, assistance, and competency measures for unlicensed personnel
- Define the role of a RN in delegating nursing tasks
This event is for Class A only licensed home care providers who are NOT Medicare Certified and for PCA organizations who are seeking their Class A license. This seminar WILL NOT address Assisted Living or Housing with Services related questions.
New Guidance for 2011-- Get Your Questions Answered
- Does a PCA/PCPO agency providing PDN need Class “A” license?
- As a PCPO/Class “A” licensed provider, how often are you required to supervise a paraprofessional assisting with self- administration of medication?
- How many hours of in-service are required annually for a paraprofessional employed in a Class “A” agency?
- What are the documentation components a Class “A” agency is required to maintain regarding TB testing of its employees?
- What is a “best practice” methodology for staff to record medication administration?
- What are the steps to competency training, testing, and documentation of unlicensed staff?
- It is acceptable to delegate supervision of a home healthaide to a LPN?
- What are the components that constitute a “supervisory visit” of a home healthaide?
- How often does a Class “A” agency need to seek/renew Physician orders?
A written cancellation postmarked 7 days prior to the event is required for a refund less a $25 cancellation fee ($25 per cancellation). Cancelations made after are charged 50% of their registration fee; no refunds for no shows. Please notify MHCA of any name changes, 651-635-0607.
Become A Member of MHCA
MHCA is reaching out to Class A agencies and anyone who is thinking about getting a Class A licensure. If you’re not a member of Minnesota HomeCare Association (MHCA) consider getting a $75 trial membership which will give you 3 months of member benefits. Benefits include discounted education, advocacy for home care, the most current news on regulations, and the opportunity to network with other professional providers. For more information go to www.mnhomecare.org.